No limitation is placed on land forces or armaments. The *status quo* "with regard to fortifications and naval bases" is to be maintained in the American, British and Japanese insular possessions in the Pacific, except Hawaii, Australia, New Zealand and the Japanese home islands and the islands nearest the American continent except the Aleutians.

Rules were adopted declaring the use of submarines against merchant vessels to be piracy and prohibiting the use of noxious and poisonous gases, as well as a resolution urging the calling of a conference to consider the laws of war.

The Committee on Far East and Pacific Questions was concerned primarily with China, though Siberia and Pacific island questions were also considered. Under the main Chinese treaty signed February 6, 1922, the powers other than China agreed to respect the sovereignty, the independence and the territorial and administrative integrity of China; to provide the fullest opportunity to China to develop and maintain an effective and stable government; to use their influence for establishing and maintaining the principle of equal opportunity for the commerce and industry of all nations throughout China and to refrain from seeking special rights or privileges in China. The Contracting Powers also agreed not to support any agreements by their respective nationals designed to create spheres of influence, while China agreed not to exercise or permit unfair discrimination of any kind throughout the railways of China. The Quadruple Pacific Treaty was signed between the United

The Quadruple Pacific Treaty was signed between the United States, the British Empire, France and Japan on December 13, 1921. While it was no essential part of the proceedings of the Conference, it naturally arose out of the deliberations which took place. In it the four parties agreed as between themselves to respect their rights in relation to their insular possessions and insular dominions in the region of the Pacific Ocean, to summon a conference of the parties for adjustment and arbitration of any controversies arising between any of them, and to consult as to the measures necessary to be taken if their rights were threatened by the aggressive action of any other power. This Treaty, which also applies to the mandated islands, and to the insular possessions of Japan, is to continue for 10 years, and to be terminable thereafter on 12 months' notice.

Second Assembly of the League of Nations. —The Second Assembly of the League of Nations met at Geneva, Switzerland, from September 5 to October 5, 1921, with Dr. van Karnebeek (Holland) as president. Forty-eight states were represented, among them Canada by Right Hon. C. J. Doherty and Sir George H. Perley. The first constructive Act was to complete the constitution of the International Court of Justice. This consists of the following judges elected for a period of nine years: Prof. Altamira (Spain), Prof. Anzilotti (Italy), Senor Barboza (Brazil), Dr. de Bustamente (Cuba), Lord Finlay (Great Britain), Judge Loder (Holland), Prof. Bassett Moore (United States), Prof. Oda (Japan), Prof. Weiss (France), Prof. Max Huber (Switzerland) and Judge Nyholm (Denmark).